Skip To Content
Street Smarts Video Contest Winners
Posted on 03/03/2020
Video Contest Winners

Street Smarts Video Contest

On January 24th, parents, students, school staff, and elected officials came to view the creative work of 45 aspiring filmmakers from San Ramon Valley middle and high schools at the Street Smarts “Be Reel!” Video Contest Awards Ceremony, held at the Danville Village Theatre. The “Be Reel!” Video Contest encourages middle and high school students to work in teams to create 60-second Public Service Announcement (PSA) videos on a traffic safety theme. This year’s theme was “Stay Alert and Don’t Get Hurt!” There were 30 videos submitted from 95 students, with 15 entries chosen as finalists.

Mayor Bill Clarkson (City of San Ramon) and Vice Mayor Lisa Blackwell (Town of Danville) emceed the event. Other elected officials included: Candace Andersen, Chair (Contra Costa County Board of Supervisors); Greg Marvel, President (San Ramon Valley Unified School District Board of Education); and Debbie Vanek, Fire and Safety Inspector, (San Ramon Valley Fire Protection District). After premiering the top 15 finalist videos, the winning filmmakers from each category were invited on stage to answer questions about their work and were presented with an award certificate and gift card.

Top category winners included:

  • Judge’s Choice
    • “Fundamentals of Being Street Smart” - produced and directed by Cole Reeves, Ishan Iyer, Braeden Forschler, and Arya Azarinfar - Charlotte Wood Middle School
  • Best Plot/Storyline
    • “Street Smart Be Real” - produced and directed by Parsa Shemirani, Ayan Goel, and Shareef Morrar - Pine Valley Middle School
    • “Distraction Free is the Way to Be” - produced and directed by Jared Fontecha - Dougherty Valley High School
  • Best Editing
    • “Street Smarts Awareness” - produced and directed by Parker Abramowitz, Liv Luenenborg, Sean Kwok, and Tristan Santos - Charlotte Wood Middle School
  • Best Use of Special Effects/Animation
  • “Billy’s Adventures” - produced and directed by Caden Chang, Ismail Raufi, and Haris Yunas - Windemere Ranch Middle School
  • “Float Safe” - produced and directed by Noah Villena - Dougherty Valley High School