The San Ramon Police Department is committed to child safety and provides car seat inspections BY APPOINTMENT ONLY on Mondays and Wednesdays. Hours vary by day.
Resident - $25, per vehicle inspected
Non-Resident - $40, per vehicle inspected
***Appointments that occur during inclement weather may be rescheduled.***
* IMPORTANT INSTRUCTIONS:
The car seat MUST arrive installed, please bring your vehicle and car seat manuals. Remember, we only inspect car seats and you will be responsible for the final installation.
* Each seat inspection lasts approximately 30 minutes
PLEASE USE THE LINK BELOW TO BOOK YOUR APPOINTMENT
Note: The system automatically shows the first AVAILABLE time slots.
Appointments fill quickly, so the earliest time slot could be 2 weeks out.
California's Child Safety Seat Laws
- California law requires that all children be properly restrained in an appropriate child safety seat
until they reach the age of 8 years old.
- Non-compliance will result in a fine of nearly $500 and a point on your driver's record.
Additional Safety Points:
- A newborn infant should be in a rear-facing car seat to at least age 2 or to the upper weight limits of the seat.
- A toddler should be in a forward facing car seat until the child exceeds the seat’s height and weight limits, the shoulders are above the seat’s top harness slots or the tops of the child’s ears above the top of the car seat.
- A child that is too large for a forward facing car seat should ride in a booster seat. Children usually need a booster until they are about 4 feet 9 inches tall and weigh between 80 and 100 pounds to get the best protection from a safety belt.
- A child seat should never be installed in front of a frontal airbag. A properly installed child seat should have less than one inch of movement side to side and up and down when checked at the seat belt path.
- Children should ride in the back seat until they are 13 years of age due to dangers posed by the airbag on their smaller bodies.
The Police Department has police technicians certified in child seat inspection. It is the goal of the Police Department to keep every child traveling in a vehicle safe. The technician checks to see if there have been manufacturer recalls and inspects the seat to ensure that it is installed in the safest way possible depending on: the type of seat, age and physical size of the child, and type of vehicle.
To locate other technicians, please visit NHTSA's Child Safety Seat Inspection Locator
RECALLS AND REGISTRATION
Safety Seat Registration and Recalls
Take the proper steps to register your car seat after purchasing it. Make sure you mail in the registration card that belongs to your child's car seat. Manufacturers are required to notify you of any recalls. You can also sign up to receive e-mail alerts about car seat and booster seat recalls through NHTSA.
Be sure to follow these steps when you hear about a recall for a car seat or booster seat:
- Find out the model and the manufacture dates that are involved in the recall
- Call or visit the manufacture website for more information, verify if the car seat or booster seat you own is on the recall list.
- Call NHTSA's toll-free Auto Safety Hotline: 1-888-327-4236
If you decide to call the toll-free hotline, be sure to have all the information of your car seat or booster seat available. If there is any recall on your car seat or booster seat get it fixed right away.
Car Seat Use After a Crash:
- It is recommended that a car seat be replaced following a moderate to severe crash to ensure a continued high level of crash protection for child passengers.
- Ask your insurance provider they may have a replacement program for car seats that have been involved in a major to severe crash.
- Always follow the manufacturer's instructions.
How to Find Manufacturer's Information:
- Infant Carriers: Check the Base of the car seat or under the carrier
- Convertible, Rear facing, Booster: Check the side of the seat
The label will look similar to the picture below: